Let’s Do This!

12734091_10153920260134524_5472782313606075982_n

Our containers were sown using seed packets.

A couple of weeks ago we had a warm breezy weekend here in our historical city of San Antonio, Texas.  This was my opportunity to dive right into gardening; I had flower pots, seeds, and potting soil specifically for vegetables and fruits.  My thought was, “What else do I really need?  Instructions are on the back of the packets with all the information I need, right?” Of course I was ready! An experienced gardener would be snorting in derision at my naiveté. Go ahead, laugh, my feelings won’t be hurt.

Some of our seed had previously been purchased at one of Target’s after season sales. Woohoo! $4 for each starter kit; we bought 3.  Each kit contained three different types of “companion” herbs/fruit.  In gardening terms “companion” means the plants are mutually beneficial by helping repel pests of the other plant by attracting insects that prey on their companion’s unwanted visitors. Here’s where an experienced gardener would say, “Not too shabby with the lingo!” Don’t be too impressed, though, I didn’t originally know that the herbs/fruit were specifically grouped as companions.  I found out much later but I’ll get to that in a future post.

The rest of our seeds were from packets my husband purchased at HEB’s garden department; for you non-Texans, HEB is a Texas grocery chain.

My older sister’s two boys were visiting us for the weekend so they were roped in with our excitement to sow our herb and veggie seeds. It was great seeing the excitement all the kids brought to our family project.  My two year old was very attentive to my instructions, while my son was a bit more independent and tried to jump ahead to pour out the seeds into his container.  My nephews had already done experienced planting beans for a school project.  All-in-all everyone learned something new while having fun.

After about an hour, all four kids (ages range from 2yrs to 10yrs) were done with their kits and headed to play in the backyard while I sowed the rest of the seeds.

Three hours later while we stood back to admire our seemingly completed work, it hit me. OMG! How am I going to get them to grow, and more importantly keep them alive?!  I’ve mentioned before I have unwittingly killed plants, so I had to do quick and serious research before our seeds started sprouting but I’ll leave that for the next post.

Below you will find the seeds and supplies we used.

~Ladybug Elsa~

 

Seeds sown Saturday, February 20, 2016:

            Seed Type (Seed Brand)

  •  Basil, Sweet (Target Herb Kit & Ferry-Morse)
  • Bell Pepper
  • Cucumber (Burpee Pickle Barrel Hybrid)
  • Jalapeño (Target Kit)
  • Lavender, Munstead (Ferry-Morse) **I loooove the scent of lavender!**
  • Mint (Target Kit)
  • Parsley (Burpee Organic)
  • Shake & Bloom, Flower Mix (Target)
    • Bachelor Buttons
    • Queen Anne’s Lace
    • Corn Poppy
    • Daisy
  • Thyme (Target Kit)
  • Tomatillo (Target Kit)
  • Tomato, Roma (Target Kit)

Other Supplies

  • Miracle-Gro Garden Soil for Flowers & Vegetables
  • Assortment of flower pots
  • Repurposed plastic containers, including a halloween pumpkin pail
  • Gardening Spade
  • White plastic knives (used as plant markers)
  • Permanent marker (used to label markers)
  • Water
12745662_10153920160304524_7477368595691519660_n

These biodegradable wholly plantable pots were a part of the Target Kits.

Disclaimer: In no way am I sponsored or compensated by the companies mentioned above.  Their identification is solely for my tracking purposes and in the spirit of full disclosure.

Leave a Reply

